“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” ~Matthew 11:28

In recent years, I’ve been accused by many who know me that I work just a little too hard.  While I don’t think this is the case (usually), I do notice times in my life when rest does not come at all easily.  It’s been a long time since I’ve undergone real stress, but I definitely feel sometimes the need for relief.  Life in the postmodern world is, quite frankly, chaotic at times.

In my very short time away from Facebook, I’ve realized just how much social media outlets have come to connect people (I should mention, apropos, that these outlets are addictive precisely because they are easy. It takes far less effort to log onto a computer where a host of distractions await than it does to hop in your car and drive to meet someone for lunch and engage in true relationship, non-verbals and all).  Ergo, the lack has functioned as a sort of disconnect from the society of my friends to some degree.  As I have a rather melancholic/phlegmatic personality, I tend to seek out solo times (not as much as I used to, however).  There have been moments in my past when I wished to be completely alone simply because I’m not a fan of the drama that can accompany relationships.  It brings to mind the story of Christopher McCandless, a young man who went off into the wild for a period of years, mostly alone, to discover the wonder of nature.  He ran off to escape, but also to discover the world in a rather Thoreauvian way.  His greatest discovery, however, was that happiness only exists, truly, in relationship.

Yet where do we draw the line?  Is life only relationship with others?  I would venture to say that life is mostly relationship with others, and  definitely relationship to God always.  Jesus frequently walked away from His short time in earthly ministry to seek solitude with God.  He knew that the trappings of life led to spiritual decay, and that sometimes we need to get off to a quiet place and simply enjoy the rest of God that only He can provide.  A time of disconnect can be renewing to the soul.

